149th British Open: All You Need to Know

The prestigious British Open is recognised as the world’s oldest golf championship, where both professional and amateur golfers from all over the world put their skills to the test in a bid to take home the Claret Jug.

A championship steeped in history, the British Open is hosted on a rotation of beautiful coastal links golf courses throughout the UK, with St Andrews and Royal St George’s being two of the most notable.

The British Open stands as one of the four major golf championships in the world alongside The Masters, The PGA Championship and the US Open.

Take a look as we uncover the history of the British Open and details for the 149th championship in 2021.

History of the British Open

The British Open commenced in 1860 and initially took place at Scotland’s Prestwick Golf club each year. As the championship progressed, Prestwick golf course began to experience capacity issues, which led to the venue being replaced by Carnoustie Golf Links in Scotland in 1931.

As the championship grew in popularity, a three-year venue rotation was introduced with Prestwick, St Andrews and Musselburgh between 1872 – 1892. Over the years, an increasing number of golf courses have been added to the rotation including Royal St George’s, Muirfield and Royal Liverpool.

The Old Course at St Andrews has hosted the British Open for a total of 29 times, making it the most notable course within the championship. St Andrews is recognised as the world’s oldest golf course, having first been established in 1552 and is often referred to as the ‘home of golf’. The golf course first hosted The British Open in 1873 and will go onto to become the host for the championship in 2022.

The British Open takes its name from the fact that the championship is theoretically open to both amateur and professional golfers. In reality, the championship mainly consists of renowned professional players with a small number of amateur players who may enter by invitation.

When is the 149th British Open?

The 149th British Open will take place between Thursday 15th July – Sunday 18th July 2021. The 149th championship was set to be held during July 2020 but, as with many events, was postponed due to COVID-19.

Where is the 149th British Open?

The 149th British Open will take place at the prestigious Royal St George’s Golf Club in Kent. The championship has been held at Royal St George’s fourteen times previously, with the last being in 2011 which saw Darren Clark take home the Claret Jug.

Royal St George’s first played host to the British Open in 1894 and was the first venue to be located outside of Scotland.

A challenging course for even the most skilled golfers, Royal St George’s is known for its 4th hole, which has the deepest bunker of all the courses within the Open championship.

Who won the British Open in 2019?

Irish golfer, Shane Lowry, won the 148th British Open in 2019 which took place at Northern Ireland’s Royal Portrush Golf Club. The Irishman battled through some treacherous weather conditions, beating rival Tommy Fleetwood in bringing home the Claret Jug.

Royal Portrush was the first golf course to host the British Open outside of England and Scotland and has only previously played host once before in 1951. By 2040, Royal Portrush will have hosted the British Open two more times.

Past notable winners of the British Open

With a championship that dates back to 1860, there is an immense number of notable winners of the British Open! There are a few big names, however, that spring to mind immediately within the British Open’s timeline of winners:

Harry Vardon

Jersey golfer, Harry Vardon, has won the British Open a record number of six times. Vardon’s impressive golfing achievements earned him a spot in the World Golf Hall of Fame, with his six British Open Medals on display at the Jersey Museum.

Tom Watson

Another golfing legend, Tom Watson, has managed to win the British Open an impressive five times. Perhaps the most notable win was during 1977 due to his rivalry with Jack Nicklaus, who already won the British Open in 1970. The championship boiled down to the two players and is often known as ‘the duel in the sun’. The pair’s rivalry was a huge talking point at the time and served to increase the popularity of golf.

Tiger Woods

Considered to be one of the world’s greatest golfers, Tiger Woods has won the British Open three times. His first win was in 2000, held at St Andrews where he beat the likes of Thomas Bjorn and Ernie Els. In 2005, he claimed the Claret Jug for a second time as the championship was held at St Andrews once again. His third win was at the 135th Open in 2006, which was held at Royal Liverpool Golf Club.

How do I get tickets for the British Open in 2021?

Eventmasters are delighted to offer luxurious hospitality packages for the British Open in 2021 at Royal St George’s. If you want to experience the world’s oldest and most prestigious golf championship in VIP style, then please head on over to our Open Championship hospitality page now for more information or give us a call on 0121 233 6500.