sports personality of the year presenters and trophy 2018

Sports Personality of the Year Winners

The BBC Sports Personality of the Year is a huge event in the British sporting calendar.  The night brings together athletes and competitors from across the world of sport, as well as television personalities and musical performances. It’s a celebration unlike any other.

In 2018, we see a number of brand new changes to the sports personality awards which will be presented at Birmingham’s Resorts World Arena for the fifth time.  The venue is currently named the Genting Arena.

Unlike previous years, in 2018 the Sports Personality of the Year winners shortlist won’t be announced until live on the night.  This adds an extra layer of excitement to the awards: not only is the winner announced, but crowds are now having to anticipate who’s even in the running.

The BBC has also introduced a number of new awards, adding more thrills to the event.  The BBC Overseas Sports Personality of the Year Award is renamed the World Sport Star of the Year, and will be voted on from across the globe.

This is a step towards creating a more global event for the 21st Century.  This is in recognition of the viewers watching British television from across the world.  Creating a globally-inclusive award engages a countlessly bigger audience.

The Greatest Sporting Moment of the Year is another exciting new award for the evening.  Viewers and the live audience will vote on the year’s most unforgettable sporting memories.  The winner will be decided from the shortlist.

2018 is also the first year that the BBC Young Sports Personality award was presented at a different event.  Seventeen-year-old Kare Adenegan won the accolade, after toppling the world record in the T34 100m, reaching the line a huge 0.38 seconds ahead of the previous world record holder.

All of the other regular awards will be awarded on the night.

Recent past winners of the Sports Personality of the Year Award have included Mo Farah, Andy Murray, Bradley Wiggins and Mark Cavendish.  Heptathlete Jessica Ennis-Hill has placed in the top three of the public vote four times in the past decade, despite never quite making the top spot.

Andy Murray has won the award three times, in 2013, 2015, and 2016 – which is the greatest number acheived.

By far the most common sport for winners of the main Award has been track and field athletes.  Eighteen athletes from the various events have won Sports Personality of the Year.  Formula 1, tennis, and football all have notable numbers of winners too, with five, six, and seven winners, respectively.

What to expect at Sports Personality of the Year 2018

This year, there are many big names in sport who are considered to have good odds of joining the long list of Sports Personality of the Year winners.  But we really don’t know – the shortlist won’t be announced until the night of the event!

The names being thrown around by bookmakers include Geraint Thomas, who most notably this year won the Tour de France.  He also took the top spot at the British National Time Trial Championships.  Thomas is now looking towards the BBC Sports Personality of the Year to add to the collection.

Lizzy Yarnold is the UK’s most successful Winter Olympian and the most successful skeleton racer in Olympic history.  She won gold in both 2014 and 2018 Winter Games and rightly is being named by pundits as a potential winner.

Harry Kane is also being looked upon favourably by pundits, after the successes of England at the World Cup this year.  Both Heavyweight champions from the UK are also considered top contenders for the accolade.  Tyson Fury, the lineal world champion, and Anthony Joshua, who holds the WBA, WBO, and IBF world titles have their names in the hat.

Over the years, English players and athletes have won the Sports Personality of the Year more than the other home countries.  There have been a total of 48 English winners, and six Scottish, four Welsh, three Northern Irish, and one Manx – track and road cyclist Mark Cavendish.

Guests in the Sports Personality of the Year hospitality section will be treated to a number of exclusives.  These include a Champagne reception, three-course dinner at a private table, and a Q&A session with sporting legends.  Hospitality guests will also be able to make use of VIP Check In and on-site parking.  After the awards ceremony, there will also be post-show refreshments and entertainment.

This is an excellent opportunity to meet with some of the greatest sporting names from the UK.  As a previous winner of the Sports Personality of the Year award, Steve Cram will be hosting the event.  It will also feature the fastest female marathon runner of all time, Paula Radcliffe.

Tanni Grey-Thompson will sit on the VIP panel, too.  Over her career she won sixteen Paralympic medals (with eleven golds), has achieved over thirty world records and won the London Marathon six times.

The final panellist involved in the Sports Personality Q&A will be Tracey Neville.  She is a former England international netball player and the current England head coach.   Neville took England to Commonwealth gold against Australia on their own home turf in 2018.

For full details, see our BBC Sports Personality of the Year VIP Tickets & Hospitality packages.