2023 Corach Rambler Grand National

Grand National 2024: Field confirmed

The field set to compete in this year’s Randox Grand National Steeple Chase at the iconic Aintree Racecourse has been confirmed.

The 2024 Grand National is a three-day horse racing spectacular at the historic and famous Aintree Racecourse from Thursday, 11th April to Saturday, 13th April 2024. The history of the event’s most famous race, the Grand National Steeple Chase, stretches back to 1839 when it was run over around 4 miles and 2 ½  furlongs with 30 fences to negotiate.

The first winner of one of this sport’s most iconic races was jockey Jem Mason, who rode Lottery to victory in the inaugural 1839 race. One of Mason’s competitors that day was Martin Becher, who rode The Duke, and there is now a fence named after him called ‘Becher’s Brook’ after he fell at this particular fence during the first-ever race.

There have been so many iconic moments in the Grand National Steeple Chase over the years, and there are too many to name all of them here, but we will take a look back at a handful of these moments, starting with Bob Champion back in 1981.

Jockey Champion was unfortunately diagnosed with testicular cancer two years prior to the race in 1979 and not given much time to live. Thankfully, Bob survived and could participate in the 1981 Grand National Steeple Chase, which he won onboard Aldaniti. He finished no less than 4 ½ lengths ahead of the favourite for the race win that day, John Thorne’s Spartan Missile. This moment was later immortalised in a film named Champions three years later in 1984, where the legendary actor John Hurt played Bob Champion.

We now rewind back to 1973 for one of the most memorable Grand National Steeple Chases of all time, and it involved the legendary horse Red Rum. In that year’s race, Red Rum was no less than 15 lengths behind leader Crisp, who was carrying more weight. Remarkably, Red Rum managed to make up the ground before winning the race by three-quarters of a length ahead of Crisp in the end.

Red Rum had a time of 9 minutes and 1.9 seconds; this beat the previous record of 18.3 seconds set by Reynoldstown in 1935 by an incredible 18.3 seconds.

Speaking of Red Rum, this horse is the most successful to date in the history of the Grand National Steeple Chase as of the time of writing, with 3 wins. These wins came in the 1970s – 1973, 1974 and 1977. In 1975 and 1976, Red Rum finished as runner-up to L’Escargot and Rag Trade, respectively.

As for the most successful jockey of all time in this legendary race, this honour belongs to George Stevens with 5 wins in all. His victories came with Freetrader in 1856, Emblem in 1863, Emblematic in 1864 and The Colonel twice in 1869 and 1870.

Finally, as for the leading trainer, the record total of 4 wins is jointly held by three trainers as it stands – they are: George Dockeray, Fred Rimell and Ginger McCain. Starting with Dockeray, he secured his wins in 1839 (with Lottery), 1840 (with Jerry), 1842 (with Gaylad) and in 1852 (with Miss Mowbray).

Rimell’s three wins came in 1956 with E.S.B., Nicolaus Silver in 1961, Gay Trip in 1970, and Rag Trade back in 1976. Finally, as for Ginger McCain, his wins came with Red Rum (1973, 1974, 1977) and Amberleigh House in 2004.

The most recent Randox Grand National Steeple Chase winner was in 2023 when Jockey Derek Fox rode Corach Rambler to victory. This was Corach Rambler’s first-ever win in this race, but of course, Fox did have prior experience of success in this race, having also won it with One For Arthur back in 2017.

Now that the initial 95 horse field has been named for the 2024 edition of the Randox Grand National Steeple Chase, we will now take a look at the field in question, including 2023 Champion Corach Rambler.

It must be noted that this field will be reduced to 34 horses for when this legendary and historic race takes place at Aintree Racecourse on the afternoon of Saturday, 13th April 2024.

The initial confirmed 2024 field is as follows:

  • Adamantly Chosen (Ireland).
  • Ain’t That A Shame (Ireland).
  • Amirite (Ireland).
  • Angels Down (Ireland).
  • Annual Invictus (Ireland).
  • Ashtown Lad (Ireland).
  • Ash Tree Meadow (France).
  • Asterion Forlonge (France).
  • Battleoverdoyen (Ireland).
  • Bronn (Ireland).
  • Busselton (France).
  • Capodanno (France).
  • Celebre d’Allen (France).
  • Cepage (France).
  • Chambard (France).
  • Chemical Energy (Ireland).
  • Classic Getaway (Ireland).
  • Coko Beach (France).
  • Conflated (Ireland).
  • Corach Rambler (Ireland).
  • Delta Work (France).
  • Desertmore House (Ireland).
  • Diol Ker (France).
  • Dunboyne (Ireland).
  • Dusart (Ireland).
  • Eklat de Rire (France).
  • Eldorado Allen (France).
  • Embittered (Ireland).
  • Empire Steel (Ireland).
  • Fakiera (France).
  • Fakir d’Alene (France).
  • Fakir d’Alene (France).
  • Fakir d’Oudairies (France).
  • Famous Bridge (Ireland).
  • Fantastic Lady (France).
  • Farouk d’Alene (France).
  • Favori de Champdou (France).
  • Fiddlerontheroof (Ireland).
  • Foxy Jacks (Ireland).
  • Frontal Assault (Ireland).
  • Full Back (France).
  • Fury Road (Ireland).
  • Galia des Liteaux (France).
  • Galvin (Ireland).
  • Gevrey (France).
  • Glengouly (France).
  • Good Boy Bobby (Ireland).
  • Hewick (Ireland).
  • Highland Hunter (Ireland).
  • I Am Maximus (France).
  • Iron Bridge (Ireland).
  • Its On The Line (Ireland).
  • James du Berlais (France).
  • Janidil (France).
  • Kinondo Kwetu (Great Britain).
  • Kitty’s Light (Great Britain).
  • Latenightpass (Great Britain).
  • Le Milos (Great Britain).
  • Letsbeclearaboutit (Ireland).
  • Limerick Lace (Ireland).
  • Longhouse Poet (Ireland).
  • Macs Charm (Ireland).
  • Mac Tottie (Great Britain).
  • Mahler Mission (Ireland).
  • Malina Girl (Ireland).
  • Meetingofthewaters (Ireland).
  • Minella Crooner (Ireland).
  • Minella Indo (Ireland).
  • Minella Trump (Ireland).
  • Mister Coffey (France).
  • Monbeg Genius (Ireland).
  • Moroder (Ireland).
  • Mr Incredible (Ireland).
  • Nassalam (France).
  • Noble Yeats (Ireland).
  • Ontheropes (Ireland).
  • Panda Boy (Ireland).
  • Placenet (France).
  • Revels Hill (Ireland).
  • Riaan (Ireland).
  • Roi Mage (France).
  • Royal Thief (Ireland).
  • Run Wild Fred (Ireland).
  • Sail Away (France).
  • Salvador Ziggy (Ireland).
  • Samcro (Ireland).
  • Shakem Up’arry (Ireland).
  • So des Flos (France).
  • Stattler (Ireland).
  • The Goffer (Ireland).
  • Threeunderthrufive (Ireland).
  • Tommie Beau (Ireland).
  • Tullybeg (Ireland).
  • Vanillier (France).
  • Where It All Began (Ireland).

With the 2024 Grand National just around the corner, excitement and anticipation are growing rapidly ahead of the three-day spectacular of horse racing that is set to take place at the iconic Aintree Racecourse from Thursday, 11th April to Saturday, 13th April 2024.

There is no better way to experience world-class horse racing at the 2024 Randox Grand National than with an Eventmasters VIP Hospitality Package. Book now to avoid disappointment!

Randox Grand National Hospitality – 2024

Grand National 2024 Hospitality Tickets & Packages – Priority Alerts:

Grand National

Our Grand National hospitality team is ready to help you plan your day at Grand National 2025 - Complete this contact form and one of our Grand National Specialists will be in contact shortly.

  • If you are enquiring on behalf of a company confirm the full company name
  • If you are enquiring on behalf of a company please confirm your title / position with the company
  • Let us know your exact requirements
  • Please note that any bookings placed with Eventmasters Limited are subject to our Terms & Conditions

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.