2023 Epsom Derby: What you need to know

With the 2023 Epsom Derby edging ever closer, here we take a look at what you need to know ahead of the big day

Horse racing fans will flock to the iconic Epsom Downs Racecourse for the Epsom Derby, which is set to take place on Saturday 3rd June at 4:30pm. With the anticipation growing by the day around who will win one of the greatest flat races in Horse Racing, we look at what you need to know ahead of the big day as well as some significant moments in the race’s history.

It was Desert Crown, ridden by Richard Kingscote, who won this historic race in 2022. This was Kingscote’s first ever Derby win, and it was in emphatic fashion, managing to win the race with a gap of two and a half lengths ahead of Hoo Ya Mal in second place. Westover rounded off the top three in third place.

Desert Crown’s trainer, Sir Michael Stoute, is no stranger to success in the Epsom Derby. This was his sixth success in this race of his career, his other five victories in the race came with Shergar (1981), Shahrastani (1986), Kris Kin (2003), North Light (2004) and Workforce (2010).

On the build up to the Derby at Epsom, favourites to win the race in 2023 are already emerging. At the time of writing, Auguste Rodin is seen as the most likely winner following an emphatic victory in the Vertem Futurity Trophy Stakes at Doncaster in October 2022.

The final field for the 2023 Epsom Derby is yet to be confirmed, with no less than 102 horses hold entries for the race at the time of writing:

  • Adelaide Road
  • A Dublin Lad
  • Age Of Kings
  • Albert Park
  • Alder
  • Alexandroupolis
  • Alfred Munnings
  • Allo Al Khawaneej
  • Al Riffa
  • Ancient Rules
  • Arrest
  • Artistic Star
  • Astrodome
  • August
  • Auguste Rodin
  • Bertinelli
  • Blanchland
  • Burglar
  • Canberra Legend
  • Cape Bridgewater
  • Catani Gardens
  • Chesspiece
  • Chindwin
  • Circle Of Fire
  • Covent Garden
  • Crystal Mariner
  • Deakin
  • Dear My Friend
  • Denmark
  • Desert Hero
  • Dubai Mile
  • Epicetus
  • Espionage
  • Flying Honours
  • Gooloogong
  • Greenland
  • Gulf Of Mexico
  • Hans Andersen
  • Hiawatha
  • Hippodrome
  • Humanity
  • Hurst Park
  • Hutton
  • Imperial Emperor
  • Indemnity
  • Intinso
  • Jeff Koons
  • King Of Steel
  • Laafi
  • Legacy Power
  • Liberty Lane
  • Lieber Power
  • Like A Tiger
  • Lion Tamer
  • Londoner
  • Lunatick
  • Mahboob
  • Medieval Gold
  • Mendelssohns March
  • Middle Earth
  • Military Order
  • Milwaukee
  • Mister Mister
  • Modesty
  • Mohawk Chief
  • Mr Buster
  • Mr Mistoffelees
  • Naqeeb
  • Nation’s Call
  • Naval Power
  • Nazymbek
  • Ndaawi
  • Paddington
  • Peking Opera
  • Prague
  • Prince Maxi
  • Proud And Regal
  • Rogue Lion
  • Royal Scotsman
  • Salt Bay
  • San Antonio
  • Shadow Of War
  • Silver Knott
  • Slipofthepen
  • Sprewell
  • Squire Danagher
  • Talisman
  • The Black Tiger
  • The Foxes
  • The Prairie
  • Time Tells All
  • Tony Montana
  • Torito
  • Tower of London
  • Unlimited
  • Victoria Road
  • Village Legend
  • Waipiro
  • White Birch
  • Young Ireland
  • Yukon River
  • Beccara Rose

The Epsom Derby has a long history, with the first ever winner being crowned all the way back in 1780. The winner of the inaugural derby was Diomed, ridden by Sam Arnull.

The jockey with the most wins in the Epsom Derby is the legendary Lester Piggott, who after winning the derby with Never Say Die in 1954, won it a further 8 times with Crepello (1957), St. Paddy (1960), Sir Ivor (1968), Nijnsky (1970), Roberto (1972), Empery (1976), The Minstrel (1977) and Teenoso (1983).

As for the most successful trainer in the Derby’s history, this honour is with Aidan O’Brien who has 8 wins in all with: Galileo (2001), High Chaparral (2002), Camelot (2012), Ruler of the World (2013), Australia (2014), Wings of Eagles (2017), Anthony Van Dyck (2019) and Serpentine (2020).

The excitement levels of horse racing fans is only going to rise over the coming weeks as the day of the Epsom Derby edges ever closer with the 2023 winner set to be crowned.

Be sure to revisit our website for updates ahead of the Derby at Epsom, we will keep you up to date with news of the runners and riders as we approach the big day. If you are looking to attend the Derby, there is no better way to enjoy all of the action at the 2023 Epsom Derby in some style with one of our VIP Hospitality Packages. Make your experience even more memorable with Eventmasters.

2023 Epsom Derby Hospitality

Interested in our Epsom Downs Racecourse hospitality packages for 2023?

Complete this form to register your interest:

If you are interested in any of our hospitality packages, our event specialists are ready to help you make your day memorable. Complete this contact form and we will be in contact shortly.

  • If you are enquiring on behalf of a company confirm the full company name
  • If you are enquiring on behalf of a company please confirm your title / position with the company
  • Let us know your exact requirements for your selected hospitality package:
  • Please note that any bookings placed with Eventmasters Limited are subject to our Terms & Conditions

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.