2024 Davis Cup: All you need to know

Here, we look at all you need to know ahead of the Davis Cup getting underway later this year.

Some of the best players in the world of tennis are set to represent their respective countries in one of the sport’s most famous and prestigious tournaments. The Group Stages of the 2024 Davis Cup are set to begin on Tuesday 10th September, with the action coming to a close on Sunday 15th September.

The Davis Cup has a history spanning more than 120 years. The inaugural tournament occurred in 1900 when the United States took on Great Britain at the Longwood Cricket Club in Boston. The idea for the tournament came a year earlier in 1899 when four members of the Harvard University tennis team wanted to organise a match between the United States and Great Britain. The Americans won the first Davis Cup, winning 3 – 0.

They won again in 1902, where they were 3 – 2 winners against Britain. In the following tournament in 1903, Great Britain won their first Davis Cup, beating the United States 4 – 1.

After initially being known as the International Lawn Tennis Challenge, the name was changed to the Davis Cup soon after. The name came from the trophy that was called the Dwight Davis’s Trophy, which William Durgin designed.

An expansion of the Davis Cup took place in 1905, with France, Austria, Belgium and Australasia taking part for the first time. The Australasia team was made up of both Australian and New Zealand players. From the 1930s, only the United States, Great Britain and Australia won the Davis Cup until South Africa emerged victorious in 1974. The number of nations competing had expanded back in 1969 to 50.

It was in 1981 that the format was changed again, with a 16-nation world group being created with the remaining nations being split into regional zone groups with promotion and relegation on offer for all nations. Fast forward to 1993, and the Davis Cup expanded to 100 nations.

The current format of 18 nations competing at one venue to be crowned world champions was introduced in 2019. The most recent winner was Italy, who beat Australia 2 – 0 in the Final in 2023.

The most successful nation in Davis Cup history is the United States, with 32 wins, followed by Australia/Australasia (28), Great Britain (10), France (10), Sweden (7) & Spain (6). And, after their win last year, Italy are now on 2 wins after their only previous win all the way back in 1976.

The Group Stages for the 2024 Davis Cup are as follows:

Group A – Italy, Netherlands, Belgium & Brazil.

Group B – Australia, Czechia, France & Spain.

Group C – Germany, USA, Slovakia & Chile.

Group D – Canada, Finland, Great Britain & Argentina.

The group stages of the 2024 Davis Cup will be hosted in a number of famous cities throughout Europe, including Manchester, where the likes of Andy Murray are set to compete for a spot in the final eight.

As for the other groups, Group A will play their matches in Bologna (Italy), Group B’s games will be taking place in Valencia (Spain), Whilst Group C’s matches are set to be hosted in Zhuhai (China).

With the latest Davis Cup set to get underway later this year, fans’ excitement levels are high, with some of the best players in the world competing for one of the sport’s most prestigious honours.

There is no better way to enjoy the 2024 Davis Cup than with an Eventmasters VIP Hospitality Package. Book now to avoid disappointment.

2024 Davis Cup Hospitality

Enquire About Our Tennis Hospitality – Priority Alerts:

Complete this form to register your interest:

If you are interested in any of our hospitality packages, our event specialists are ready to help you make your day memorable. Complete this contact form and we will be in contact shortly.

  • If you are enquiring on behalf of a company confirm the full company name
  • If you are enquiring on behalf of a company please confirm your title / position with the company
  • Let us know your exact requirements for your selected hospitality package:
  • Please note that any bookings placed with Eventmasters Limited are subject to our Terms & Conditions

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.