Tiger Roll

Last Five Winners of Grand National

Aintree Racecourse is set to host the Grand National once more, and here we look back at the last five winners of the highly coveted Randox Grand National Steeple Chase.

The 2024 Grand National at the iconic Aintree Racecourse is now just around the corner, and three days of enthralling, world-class horse racing will be taking place from Thursday 11th to Saturday 13th April 2024. A total of 21 races will be taking place at this highly prestigious and illustrious festival of horse racing.

All of the races possess prestige, but arguably none more so than the Randox Grand National Steeple Chase, which takes place at 4pm on the third and final day of proceedings – the last day is better known as Randox Grand National Day. In 2024’s race, a horse, jockey and trainer will be adding themselves to the list of winners from the 185 year history of this race.

Lottery, ridden by Jem Mason and trained by four-time winner George Dockeray, made history as the first official winner of this race back in 1839. Since then, many famous and iconic horses, jockeys and trainers have graced Aintree in the Grand National Steeple Chase, and some have left a lasting legacy.

The horse with the most wins in this race as of the time of writing is the famous Red Rum, who won it three times, with the first coming in 1973 with the further two triumphs following in 1974 and then in 1977. Ginger McCain was Red Rum’s trainer for all three wins, and he had four in all when he won with Amberleigh House in 2004, which made him the joint most successful trainer in the Grand National’s history with 4.

McCain’s record stands alongside Fred Rimell and the aforementioned George Dockeray. After his win with Lottery in 1839, Dockeray’s other three wins came in 1840 with Jerry, in 1842 with Gaylad and finally, in 1852 with Miss Mowbray. As for Rimell, his four wins came in 1956 (with E.S.B.), 1961 (With Nicolaus Silver), 1970 (with Gay Trip) and finally in 1976 with Rag Trade.

Finally, the jockey who currently has the honour of holding the record for the most wins in the Grand National Steeple Chase over the years is George Stevens, with 5 overall. Stevens’ wins came with Freetrader (1856), Emblem (1863), Emblematic (1864), and The Colonel in 1869 and 1870.

Here, we are going to take a look back at the five most recent winners of the Randox Grand National Steeple Chase at the iconic Aintree Racecourse.

Tiger Roll (2018 & 2019)

We start this list with a horse so famous it has a hospitality package named after it – the Tiger Roll Suite! Back in 2018, it was taking part in that year’s Grand National Steeple Chase, and Tiger Roll was able to come out on top thanks to a tremendous performance from horse and jockey Davy Russell. This was a first-ever win in this race for both Russell and Tiger Roll – they finished ahead of the likes of Pleasant Company (David Mullins) and Bless the Wings (Jack Kennedy), who rounded off the rest of the top three in that year’s race.

Then a year later, in 2019, history was to repeat itself when Tiger Roll managed to become the first horse since Red Rum in 1973 and 1974 to win the Grand National Steeplechase two years running. In what was a second win in as many years for Davy Russell, the runner-up that year was Magic of Light (Paddy Kennedy), whilst Rathvinden, ridden by the iconic Ruby Walsh, had to settle for a third place finish in the end to round off the top three.

Minella Times (2021)

The 2020 Grand National was cancelled in 2020 due to the global pandemic, so 2021 is the next Grand National Steeple Chase race after Tiger Roll’s second win in a row. The winner in 2021 was Minella Times, and, ridden by Rachael Blackmore, she became the first female jockey to ever win this famous race.

It was Aidan Coleman’s Balko Des Flos and Mark Walsh’s Any Second Now who had to settle for a second and third place finish in that year’s race respectively.

Noble Yeats (2022)

Sam Waley-Cohen was the winning jockey back in 2022, and in that year’s Grand National he was riding Noble Yeats, a horse trained by Emmet Mullins. This victory was Waley-Cohen and Emmet Mullins’ first ever win in this particular race. Noble Yeats is owned by the Jockey’s father, Robert Waley-Cohen.

It was pre-race favourite Any Second Now, ridden by Mark Walsh, who came in second place by a margin of two and a quarter lengths, with Delta Work (Jack Kennedy) coming in third.

Corach Rambler (2023)

Finally, we come to the most recent winner of the Aintree Randox Grand National Steeple Chase back in April 2023. It was pre-race favourite Corach Rambler, who was ridden by Derek Fox, who came out on top last year, with Sean Flanagan’s Vanillier coming in second, whilst Paul Townend’s Gaillard Du Mesnil in third.

This particular race also saw Corach Rambler’s owner, Cameron Sword, become the youngest owner to win a Grand National Steeple Chase in the race’s almost 200-year history at the age of 21.

Excitement and anticipation is building rapidly ahead of the 2024 Grand National, which is set to get underway for three days of enthralling racing from Thursday 11th April 2024.

There is no better way to enjoy world-class horse racing at the 2024 Grand National than with an Eventmasters VIP Hospitality Package. Book now to avoid disappointment!

Randox Grand National Hospitality – 2024

Grand National 2024 Hospitality Tickets & Packages – Priority Alerts:

Grand National

Our Grand National hospitality team is ready to help you plan your day at Grand National 2025 - Complete this contact form and one of our Grand National Specialists will be in contact shortly.

  • If you are enquiring on behalf of a company confirm the full company name
  • If you are enquiring on behalf of a company please confirm your title / position with the company
  • Let us know your exact requirements
  • Please note that any bookings placed with Eventmasters Limited are subject to our Terms & Conditions

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.