Cheltenham Showcase Meeting Hospitality

Tingle Creek Chase – the Last 5 Winners

Anticipation is growing ahead of the latest renewal of the Tingle Creek Chase at Sandown Racecourse next week.

The Tingle Creek Festival at the iconic Sandown Racecourse is one of the most prestigious events on the jump racing calendar, and this year’s two days of world class racing is set to be as entertaining and enthralling as ever. The 2023 edition of this festival will be taking place from Friday 8th to Saturday 9th December 2023.

In terms of history, this festival of jump racing traces back to the inaugural event in 1979, with it being known initially as the Benson & Hedges Gold Cup before it went on to become the Mecca Bookmakers Handicap Chase. Its name was soon changed to what it is today.

Plenty of iconic horses and jockeys have participated in the Tingle Creek Festival over the years. The most successful horse of all time in this particular event is Flagship Umbrellas, who won it three times (1999, 2000 and 2001).

As for jockeys, Richard Dunwoody has had the most success at this event at Sandown with 5 wins in total, which came with: Lefrak City (1985), Waterloo Boy (1991, 1992) and Sound Man (1995, 1996).

All the races stand out in some way, but arguably, the most prestigious race of the two-day festival is the Tingle Creek Chase. This Chase was named after a horse named Tingle Creek, a popular national hunt racehorse that had previously won the Benson & Hedges Gold Cup Chase in 1973.

Here, we will go through the five most recent winners of the prestigious Tingle Creek Chase.

2018: Altior

The fifth most recent winner of the Tingle Creek Chase was Altior, who won it back in 2018. Altior’s jockey that day was Nico de Boinville, who guided his horse to victory ahead of Ruby Walsh’s Un De Sceaux and Gavin Sheehan’s Saint Calvados.

This was the first win in this race for both the horse and Nico de Boinville himself. Altior’s trainer was Nicky Henderson, who recorded his second Tingle Creek Chase win after first winning it in 2012 with Sprinter Sacre.

2019: Defi Du Seuil

Now we will move on to 2019, when Defi Du Seuil won the Chase that year ahead of the likes of Paul Townend’s Un De Sceaux and Brian Hughes’ Waiting Patiently, who had to settle for second and third place finishes respectively.

Barry Geraghty rode Defi Du Seuil to victory with Philip Hobbs as the trainer. This was Geraghty’s fourth victory in the Tingle Creek Chase, with the other three wins coming in 2003 (Moscow Flyer), 2004 (Moscow Flyer) and the aforementioned Sprinter Sacre (2012).

2020: Politologue

The 2020 Tingle Creek Festival still managed to go ahead, so there was, of course, another winner of the Tingle Creek Chase that year. Harry Skelton’s Politologue emerged as the winner after fending off competition from Harry Cobden’s Greaneteen and Gavin Sheehan’s Rogue Vif, who finished in second and third place, respectively.

This was Politologue’s second win after a maiden victory in 2017. Trainer Paul Nicholls is no stranger to wins in this race, with 11 before this victory in 2020. As for Harry Skelton, this was his first-ever win in the Tingle Creek Chase.

2021: Greaneteen

2021’s winner was Greaneteen, who was ridden to victory by jockey Bryony Frost and trained by Paul Nicholls. Harry Cobden’s Hitman was the runner-up in second place, while Rachael Blackmore’s Captain Guinness rounded off the top three in third place.

Nicholls is the most successful trainer in the history of this race, with this being his 13th win in the Tingle Creek Chase. His previous 12 came with: Flagship Uberalles (1999), Cenkos (2002), Kauto Star (2005, 2006), Twist Magic (2007, 2008), Master Minded (2008, 2010), Dodging Bullets (2014) and Politologue (2017, 2020).

2022: Edwardstone

The most recent winner of the Tingle Creek Chase came in 2022 when Tom Cannon rode Edwardstone to victory in that year’s running of this particular race. Cannon managed to fend off stern competition from 2021 winner Edwardstone (ridden by Harry Cobden) and Shishkin (ridden by Nico de Boinville).

This was a first-ever win in the Tingle Creek Chase for horse Edwardstone, jockey Tom Cannon and trainer Alan King.

There is no better way to watch world-class horse racing than with an Eventmasters Corporate Hospitality Package. Book now to avoid disappointment.

Tingle Creek Festival Hospitality Packages – 2023

Interested in the Betfair Tingle Creek Festival hospitality packages at Sandown Racecourse? Enquire below:

Complete this form to register your interest:

If you are interested in any of our hospitality packages, our event specialists are ready to help you make your day memorable. Complete this contact form and we will be in contact shortly.

  • If you are enquiring on behalf of a company confirm the full company name
  • If you are enquiring on behalf of a company please confirm your title / position with the company
  • Let us know your exact requirements for your selected hospitality package:
  • Please note that any bookings placed with Eventmasters Limited are subject to our Terms & Conditions

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.